Youtube Twitter Facebook
italiano print send send Skype
profiles - composers - luca lombardi - biography


- bio - works - recordings
Luca Lombardi
Luca Lombardi - Biography
Roma, 1945


E-mail: [email protected]
Yedidi ha Shahahta (1994) for soprano and percussion
Catharina Kroeger, soprano
Paolo Capasso, percussion

Luca Lombardi, born December 24, 1945 in Rome. He studied piano and composition in Rome, Florence, Vienna, Cologne and Berlin, among others with Karlheinz Stockhausen, Bernd-Alois Zimmermann and Paul Dessau. He earned a PhD in German Language and Literature at Rome University. From 1973 to 1993 he taught composition at the Conservatories of Pesaro and Milan.

He wrote more than 160 compositions, including four operas (Faust. Un travestimento, 1991; Dmitri oder der Künstler und die Macht, 2000; Prospero, 2006; Il Re nudo, 2009), music for orchestra (among which Terra, 2007 and Mare, 2012), chamber music (among which Warum? Secondo quartetto per archi, 2006) and for solo instruments (among which Nel vento, con Ariel for flute, 2004).

He is a member of the Academy of Arts, Berlin and of the Bavarian Academy of fine Arts, Munich. He is co-author of a treatise on orchestration (Instrumentation in der Musik des XX. Jahrhunderts, Celle, Germany, 1985). A selection of his writings was published in the book Construction of Freedom and other Writings (in English, with in an appendix the originals in German and Italian), edited by Juergen Thym (Baden-Baden, 2006).

For more detailed information please click here

Updated to 02/2014